Day1.

Standard

Day 01. Your current relationship, if single discuss how single life is.


In all honestly, I’m not very sure how long I’ve been single already. It’s not that I’ve not have had a boyfriend for a long time, it’s just that I haven’t been in a serious relationship for a really long time. I’ve definitely been dating, definitely NOT attached. But, I wouldn’t say that I miss being in a relationship. Single life has taught me a lot about myself, about what I want to do in life and about how I expect myself to live my life.

My last serious relationship was probably with my AmericanBoy. We broke up about 4months ago, but seriously, we were never “together” in a sense because we were always at least 8774miles away from each other. Sure, when I travel around or when he travels, we get a little closer to each other, but always in two different countries. By far, he was the one relationship that I was the happiest in because it was a mutual give and take, but more than that, he really made an effort to actually spend time with me, even if it was only on Skype. He’s 15hours behind Singapore time, which means that to accomodate my school/work schedule he has to stay up till/wake up at 3am in the morning just to talk to me in his blurry-eyed state. (: The only regret that I have about this relationship is that because of the distance and his status, I was never able to take pictures with him in public, but public was the only place we met in. Sighs.

The relationship that I had with the boyfriend before AmericanBoy was somewhat tiring. I did love him a lot, to the point where when we broke up, it killed me (partly also because he was cheating on me with another girl). It was tiring because I constantly had to be on my toes. We were both busy people and I really wanted to spend as much time as I could with him, but he was engrossed in other things. ‘Nuff said. I’m still on amiable terms with him, and that’s more than enough.

Being single has given me time to explore my own talents, and time to think about what I want. Being single, I have control over my own schedule and I don’t have to synchronize it with someone’s else’s time. I can meet whoever I want, whenever I want. And most of all, I can club whenever I want, meet all the boys I want and date all I want. Being single is a time where I find out what are the kind of guys I like, what are the kind of guys I don’t like (as in habitually, not physically) and what are the must-haves of my future man. It also gives me time to further myself because I can go to the gym whenever I want, dance whenever I want and just have “me” time whenever I want.

All I’ve got to say is that one day when I do get attached, I’ll definitely miss being single. Being single is somewhat of a self-centered lifestyle, but at the same time, you get to spend it with other people who mold your life to allow you to become a better person.

About QuelynRebekkah

a twenty (plus) year old who loves to live life as spectacularly as possible. working hard and playing even harder is the motto i follow in life cause i want to always carpe diem. life's short and we don't know what's gonna happen, so i'd rather do all the stupid things now then regret later. (: i'm ironic, controversial, sensational, and of course, quirky and random. the ironic part about my whole life is everyone knows me to be a social butterfly, but i mainly like to be a loner. hahs. you didn't believe that, did you. but i really like to spend time alone, by myself. if you're reading this, good for you. welcome to my life and enjoy the stories that i'm sharing.

Leave a comment